Skip To Main Content

About Mason CLC

The Mason Community Learning Center was opened on January 22, 2008.
  • Mason CLC teachers have an average of 15 years of experience.
  • 78% hold a master's degree or higher.
  • The Mason CLC campus features the latest digital classroom technology and video conferencing.
  • Mason CLC offers students specialized tutors and small class sizes.
Mason CLC

History of Mason CLC

The original Mason Elementary School was constructed and opened in 1913. It was named in honor of Frank H. Mason (1852-1931), who served as vice president of Goodrich Rubber Works, Akron’s first rubber company, in 1907, and later became vice chairman of its Board of Directors. In September 1910, when Akron Public Schools suspended medical inspections in the schools due to lack of funding, Mr. Mason offered to pay the costs of employing visiting nurses in the schools for one year to ensure student health. In recognition of his generosity, the Akron Board of Education named the proposed school on Beaver Street the "Frank H. Mason School." Groundbreaking for the new building took place on June 6, 2006. The new building opened to students on January 22, 2008; and the official dedication took place on February 9, 2008.